Lorde – Melodrama (Album Review)

After the release of her unexpected highly successful single ‘Royals’ and debut album ‘Pure Heroine’, I have continued to listen to Lorde’s music repeatedly and she has undoubtedly become one of my favourite artists despite only having one LP. I have patiently waited years for Lorde to release new music. Green Light, the lead single from the her new album was released earlier this year. It caused Melodrama to become highly anticipated by myself and millions globally. The album cover is beautiful. I literally counted down the days until the album would drop. Every time a new song from the album was released or performed, I was SHOOK.

Finally, as the release date arrived, I listened to the album at midnight, as soon as it was released in the UK. At first, I was disappointed with how short the album was. However, I quickly came to realise that Melodrama really was a masterpiece. The album didn’t need to be any longer than it already was. The quality of the album really hit me. I knew that Lorde was clever but I have come to the conclusion that Lorde is a lyrical GENIUS. Lyrics like “I am your sweetheart, psychopath is crush” are so cleverly crafted together and don’t compare to any other artist that I listen to.

Every single song on Melodrama is so creative, from the vocal arrangements, to the production. The narrative of the whole album has worked really well with the sounds to create a cohesive piece of art. Melodrama really is one of the best “breakup” albums of all time. Lorde tells her story so magically and I can really see how it pulls on peoples heart strings. Despite it being a breakup album, there are fun tracks like ‘Homemade Dynamite’ and ‘Perfect Places’ which really give the album a good balance and a break from the heartache.  My personal favourite from the album would have to be ‘The Louvre’. A song about having a crush on someone. It describes the initial moments of when your heart would race at just the thought of them.

Lorde’s decision of naming the album ‘Melodrama’ is interesting as it suggests that everything on the album is over dramatised and exaggerated. However, I, as a listener am completely cool with it because without the Melodrama aspect, the album wouldn’t be what it is. Another gripping thing about Lorde’s music is that, as a listener, you can often feel as though you’re in Lorde’s friendship group and that she’s simply made this album for fun so that her and her friends can all listen to it together. I especially get this feeling in random moments like halfway through ‘Homemade Dynamite’ when the music stops and you hear Lorde whisper “Now you know it’s really gonna blow (bhoo)”. It’s just so unique.

Overall, the album is definitely one of the best of the year so far. I hope that it goes on to win many awards at award shows over the next year. I also hope that Lorde can gain the confidence that she never used to have. I am sure that she can progressively evolve more from this album to go on to make even more breathtaking music in the future.

Author: Tré X Thomas

17 | Athlete | Student

One thought on “Lorde – Melodrama (Album Review)”

Leave a Reply

